Marshall County Daily Logo
Serving Marshall County KY

Contributing author Paula Harrington joins our Worship Section!
CLICK HERE to enjoy her inspiration, delivered with a light and delightful touch!

Jan 26th
Text size
  • Increase font size
  • Default font size
  • Decrease font size

Romney/Ryan ticket voted in two to one in Marshall County, new city council members elected

E-mail Print PDF

altMARSHALL COUNTY - Following a steady stream of voters turning out at the polls today, local residents have voted more than two to one for the Romney/Ryan ticket and have voted to seat several new city council members.
In the race for Benton City Council, Republican candidate Josh Hendrickson and Democratic candidate Bill Thorpe will replace former council members Glen Brewer and Tim King who both opted to not seek re-election. Hendrickson received 1,414 votes, with Thorpe earning 1,401. Incumbents Rita Dotson finished with 1,531 votes, Chris Freeland with 1,436, Stanley ‘Butch’ Holland with 1,426 and Charles Edmonds with 1,404.
In the non-partisan race for Calvert City Council, incumbents Gene Colburn and Kevin Stokes tied, both garnering 760 votes each, followed by Dr. Richard Cocke who drew 736 votes.

Taking the next seat on the council was incumbent Tim Hawkins with 656 votes. Daryl Smith came in taking the fifth seat with 650 votes. Newcomer Lisa Sills took the sixth seat having received 638 votes followed by Sandra Wright coming in with 627 and Larry Whitt with 376. Although David Wells’ name appeared on the ballot, garnering him 313 votes, he had previously withdrawn from the race.
In the race for Hardin City Council, Ronnie Black came out on top earning 17.48 percent of the vote, a total of 132 votes. Bill Elkins earned 127, Gary Freeman -126, Lyn Henderson- 125, Stacey Brewer – 124, and Donnie Birdsong – 122.
In the Presidential race, Republican Mitt Romney and Paul Ryan earned 66.17 percent of the vote in Marshall County, a total of 10,402 votes compared to the 5,022 votes cast for Democratic President Barack Obama and Joe Biden.
Libertarian candidate Gary Johnson earned 148 votes.
In the race for 1st District Congressional Representative, Incumbent Congressman Ed Whitfield earned 66 percent of the vote, a total of 10,279 votes and Democratic challenger Charles Hatchett earning 5,141 votes.
Some 3,373 Republican voters opted to pull a straight ticket, a similar number to the 3,188 Democratic voters who opted to do the same.

**All results are unofficial at this time.